I like older men- so what?

Ketel One Hosts The VIP Red Carpet Suite At The 25th Annual GLAAD Media Awards In New YorkSo I like older men. Is that a crime? I finally see an image in the media of a gay relationship much like the one’s that I’ve had and often dream of and just when I start to think “hey maybe it’s not as big a deal as I thought” I happen to scroll to the online comments. After all, they sometimes spark good debate. I’m talking about the 22-year-old black college basketball start Derrick Gordon and his white 47-year-old boyfriend Gerald McCullouch.

They stepped out together recently for the GLAAD Media Awards making their relationship public. Good for them! I thought. But of course given the extra-large pair of balls social media grants some of us, the haters just had to get in there and tear this beautiful thing to shreds with ignorance. Hating on the fact that this young soon to be successful black guy is dating an insanely hot older gentlemen who happens to be white. I mean it’s 2014. Does stuff like that even matter? What should matter is the layers of positivity this image shows. It shows that gays aren’t as fickle as you thought. Age isn’t really an issue when it comes to dating. Neither is race. At the end of the day all that matters is your happiness.

Sure the below average bloke’s gonna say that the young guy’s a gold digger and the older guy’s a sugar daddy but that isn’t always the case. I’m not naive to the fact that those situations do exist but why should we instantly go off the negative side? Can’t people just be in love? To me there’s nothing more attractive than a middle-aged man–notice the choice of words. “Old” has no place in my diction. Ageism and issues with interracial dating should be a thing of the past.

The labelling has got to stop. And to address the females who are using the net to complain about having “too much competition” from gays to get a man-How exactly are gay men giving you competition?

Live and let live! Love is love!!!